Announcing the 2020 Winners of the Tällberg Eliasson Global Leadership Prize

Nov 25, 2020


Sylvia Earle, Jared Genser, Nithya Ramanathan
Receive 2020 Awards

Stockholm and New York, November 25, 2020—Today the Tällberg Foundation announced the winners of the 2020 Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prizes, awarded annually for extraordinary leadership—in any field and any country—that is courageous, innovative, rooted in universal values and global in application or in aspiration.

The 2020 laureates:

Sylvia Earle, one of the world’s foremost oceanographers, for her thoughtful, relentless activism
 and pioneering research aimed at conserving the oceans for the good of the planet and of humanity.



Jared Genser, a human rights lawyer, for his urgency, creativity and dedication to using the law to free political prisoners, protect human rights
 and challenge autocracy around the world.



Nithya Ramanathan, an engineer and social entrepreneur, for her work to save lives through the innovative application of technology, creating and applying data-driven solutions to global challenges.



The Prize and the Foundation’s leadership initiatives are made possible by the generous support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF).

“This year’s jury chose these extraordinary leaders, who work in very different contexts on very different challenges, because of their shared commitment to making the world a better place through concerted, creative, and practical action,” said Alan Stoga, Tällberg Foundation chairman.

Above all else, the inspiring work of these three remarkable leaders brings us hope when we need it most,” said SNF Co-President Andreas Dracopoulos. “The range of fields in which they work speaks to the vision of leadership the Prize represents, one that looks beyond traditional hierarchies to focus instead on real, positive outcomes for people and for our planet. On behalf of everyone at SNF, warmest congratulations to Jared Genser, Nithya Ramanathan, and Sylvia Earle.”

Nominations for the Prize, which carries a $50,000 stipend, can be made by anyone, anywhere through an online process. In 2020, 2,165 leaders were nominated from 135 countries, representing a wide range of disciplines, occupations, and political perspectives.

For further information about this year’s winners and to share the media kit, please see visit our website.

About the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF)
SNF is one of the world’s leading private, international philanthropic organizations, making grants to nonprofit organizations in the areas of arts and culture, education, health and sports, and social welfare. SNF funds organizations and projects worldwide that aim to achieve a broad, lasting, and positive impact for society at large and exhibit strong leadership and sound management. The Foundation also supports projects that facilitate the formation of public-private partnerships as an effective means for serving public welfare.

Since 1996, the Foundation has committed more than $3.1 billion through over 4,700 grants to nonprofit organizations, in 132 nations around the world.

Learn more at

Related events

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap