About the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize, 2019

The Tällberg Foundation seeks to identify and honor people who are acting—and leading—in principled ways that challenge paradigms that need to be challenged and who have the potential to inspire others to do the same.

What is the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize?

The Prize is awarded annually to outstanding leaders who demonstrate the willingness and capacity to address the complexity of 21st-century challenges in innovative, risk-taking, and ethical ways, and whose work is global in aspiration or implication and is rooted in universal values. Prize winners are honored not only for what they have already accomplished, but for their commitment to continue seeking the kinds of positive change our societies demand.

One underlying principle is that great leadership is not bound by geography or arena. In practice that means potential winners can come from any country and any discipline.

Each year the Tällberg Foundation board determines the number of prizes to be awarded, ranging from two to four. Each prize carries a $50,000 honorarium.

What is the origin of the name?

The prize is named in honor of the Swedish international diplomat Jan Eliasson, who was deputy secretary-general of the United Nations and is currently chairman of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. The Tällberg Foundation believes that he embodies the kind of leadership they seek to honor with this prize, since great leaders can make a profound difference only if, like Jan Eliasson, they operate in concert with universal human values and are tireless in their efforts as well as innovative in their approaches. That said, this is not a prize for diplomats, but an award that takes Eliasson’s approach to leadership as a yardstick against which others can be measured.

How are the winners chosen?

Candidates are nominated through an open, online process that begins March 4 and ends May 3, 2019. Anyone, anywhere—except for prize jurors—may nominate. Nominations are subbitted through the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize website: www.eliassongloballeadership.org.

An international jury—composed of leaders from different disciplines, experiences and backgrounds—reviews the nominations and ultimately selects winners. That selection process entails successive rounds of secret balloting, which means that all jurors have equal weight in the selection process. In effect, each year’s jury defines its own criteria, and every nominee is judged individually.

In 2018, 825 nominations were submitted from 130 countries and 3 prizes were awarded.

When are the winners announced?

The jury will complete its deliberations in September, and winners will be notified and announced in October. The awards will be presented as part of a celebration of leadership in the 21st century in Nairobi, Kenya.

Who is on the jury in 2019?

  • Gabriela Cuevas; Mexico; Federal Congresswoman, President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, Geneva
  • Vishakha Desai; U.S. and India; Scholar focused on art, culture, policy, and women’s rights; Columbia University
  • Paula DiPerna; United States; Policy advisor and author focused on global environmental and philanthropic policy issues
  • Nabil Fahmy; Egypt; Former Foreign Minister and Founding Dean, School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, The American University in Cairo
  • Safa Al-Hashem; Kuwait; An elected MP in the Parliament of Kuwait, an accomplished businesswoman and investment banker
  • Gary Knight; U.K. and U.S.; Photojournalist, co-founder & director of the VII Photo Agency and of the VII Foundation
  • Ashok Mirpuri; Singapore; Ambassador to the United States and career diplomat
  • Alan Stoga; United States; Chairman, Tällberg Foundation, Senior Adviser, Kissinger Associates and strategy consultant
  • Carole Wainaina; Kenya and Morocco; COO at Africa 50 Infrastructure Fund, senior business & human relations executive public & private sectors
  • Secretary: Tom Cummings; The Netherlands and U.S.; Founder Leading Ventures and corporate board adviser
  • Rules adviser: Maarten Koets; The Netherlands; NGO executive and consultant

Why did the foundation establish the Eliasson Global Leadership Prize?

The Foundation’s board believes that many societies—and, indeed, the global system itself—are at or approaching inflection points. Institutions, paradigms, and societal norms are under enormous pressure to change, but old habits die hard, even if they no longer are adequate to deal with new realities. That puts great value on courageous leaders and innovative leadership.
The Tällberg Foundation aspires to identify, reward, and thereby promote leaders and leadership behaviors that have the potential to produce positive change in the face of significant resistance.

The current form and format of the Eliasson Global Leadership Prize was established in 2014; however, the Tällberg Foundation began recognizing principled global leadership in 2005.

How is the prize funded?

The lead sponsor of the Eliasson Global Leadership Prize is the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (www.SNF.org). However, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation plays no role in the selection process.

SNF is one of the world’s leading private international philanthropic organizations, making grants in the areas of arts and culture, education, health and sports, and social welfare. SNF funds organizations and projects that are expected to achieve a broad, lasting, and positive impact for society at large, and exhibit strong leadership and sound management. SNF also seeks actively to support projects that facilitate the formation of public-private partnerships as an effective means for serving the public welfare. Since 1996, SNF has committed more than $2.4 billion, through almost 4,000 grants to nonprofit organizations in 113 nations around the world —including a new SNF initiative to expand its support of the health sector in Greece with a series of infrastructure and education projects, expected to exceed $240 million.

How can I find more information?

Information and nomiation materials are at the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize website: https://eliassongloballeadership.org. In addition, contact Prize@tallbergfoundation.org.

Please share

To help us create awareness, we encourage you to share information about the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize.

Nominations and General information: https://eliassongloballeadership.org/

Prize kit and social media links: https://eliassongloballeadership.org/media-kit/